Where the wildflowers are

(Or will be). Eventually. In 7-10 days. With some rain and nice sun.

On Tuesday night, I tore up some newspaper to add another layer to my worm bin and misted it with water. I gingerly peered inside, and they seemed to be happy and squirmy. Trev and I also made strides on landscaping the tiny front yard. We put in a brick path to water the plants without stepping on any seedlings. I planted the Day Lily and Hen and Chicks plants I bought recently at the Frager’s Hardware  temporary garden center at Eastern Market after the neighborhood store burned down last week.

I never got to the Frager's Hardware store before the fire. My loss! It seems to be such a staple for Capitol Hill and D.C. gardeners and handy-people. People were really upset to see it destroyed.
I never got to Frager’s Hardware before the fire. My loss! It seems to be such a staple for Capitol Hill and D.C. gardeners and handy-people. People were really upset to see it destroyed.
My mom had hen and chicks plants in the yard. They are so cute. They remind me of cactus. And the little plants will grow around the big one. They are perennial succulents. They can survive in drought and need very little attention. We're having no kind of drought in D.C. at the moment, but hopefully they don't mind the luxurious life.
My mom had hen and chicks plants in the yard in Iowa. The little plants will grow around the big one. They are perennial succulents. They can survive in drought and need very little attention. We’re having no kind of drought in D.C. at the moment, but hopefully they don’t mind the luxurious life.

I also bought an Azalea shrub for the back corner of the yard.

I hope it will expand a little in that space. The ground in the front yard is rocky and full of clay and roots. I try to ease the plants into the new less coddled environment by surrounding them with nice store-bought miracle grow soil. Once my worms start producing soil (get a move on, guys), I can surround my plants with the stuff I make myself.
I hope it will expand a little in that space. The ground in the front yard is rocky and full of clay and roots. I try to ease the plants into this less coddled environment by surrounding them with nice store-bought miracle grow soil. Once my worms start producing soil (get a move on, guys), I can surround my plants with sweet stuff I make myself.
I hope to eventually buy a nicer black trellis for my Moonflower. I put it toward the back of the yard because they grow taller. They bloom huge white blooms in the evening.
I hope to eventually buy a nicer black trellis for my Moonflower. I put it toward the back of the yard, but I might move them to the front fence since they like to climb. They bloom huge white flowers in the evening.
Of course I have to include my lavender. Every time I smell it, I remember taking walks in Allauch, the little Mediterranean town that I stayed in the France last summer. Like the Azalea, I hope this expands a little to take up more ground, and I can't wait for it to produce flowers.
Every time I smell my lavender, I remember taking walks in Allauch, the little Mediterranean town that I stayed in the France last summer. Like the Azalea, I hope this expands a little to take up more ground, and I can’t wait for it to produce flowers.
As the Internet instructed, I scattered my wildflower mix seeds and walked on them to push them into the soil.
As the Internet instructed, I scattered my wildflower mix seeds and walked on them to push them into the soil.
The brick path will allow me to water and plant things without stepping on seeds or seedlings. There is still the chance that I will pull some of them thinking they are weeds, but it's a lot less likely than me crushing them with my big feet.
The brick path will allow me to water and plant things without stepping on seeds or seedlings. There is still the chance that I will pull some of them thinking they are weeds, but it’s a lot less likely than crushing them with my big feet.
My mom informed me that Thyme makes a good ground cover. Trev informed me that it is pretty easy to make thyme-infused vodka. Done and done. I used my thyme plant (started from seed) to make a border along one side of the path. I planted leftover seeds between the plants. Hopefully in thyme (someone slap me), it will grow into a lovely border.
My mom informed me that Thyme makes a good ground cover. Trev informed me that it is also pretty easy to make thyme-infused vodka. Done and done. I used my thyme plant (started from seed in a Folgers coffee container) to make a border along one side of the path. I planted leftover seeds between the plants. Hopefully in thyme (someone slap me), it will grow into a nice border.
As I was working on it, a few people commented. Most were impressed that we could drink so much wine. Well, yeah. Gotta be good at something.
As I was working on it, a few people commented as they walked by. Most were impressed that we could drink so much wine. Well, yeah. Gotta be good at something.
3 thoughts on “Where the wildflowers are

  1. Sarah-
    what a cute garden! I love it! Love the pics, love the commentary.
    now all you need is such mulch!
    love, mom

Leave a Reply

