Taco Monday

Imagine you are out having a drink and celebrating your boyfriend’s newly landed job. One drink turns into two, as it usually does, and you are hungry. You know from experience that eating at home always tastes better than eating out. Eating at home also requires a trip to the grocery store. While you are lucky enough to live some short blocks away from a 24-hour grocery store that on a good day nearly equals your beloved Hy-Vee, you hate making that trip for just one thing. You envision your homemade tacos and the inside of your rather empty refrigerator: ground turkey meat (check), sharp white cheddar (check), onion (check), tomatoes (check), hot sauce (check). If only you had some essential fresh produce.

You envision your garden: lettuce (check), cilantro (check).

And you have yourself a taco.

It's a great feeling to be able to use the things you grow. A few weeks ago, I could have chopped up my own green onions for the meal. And in a week or so, I could add in my own diced tomato.
It’s a great feeling to be able to use the things you grow. A few weeks ago, I could have chopped up my own green onions for the meal. And in a week or so, I could add in my own diced tomato.

My garden is sporadic, I know. The lettuce and cilantro have been my trusty companions throughout the spring and summer, but they are starting to melt with the heat. The onions and radishes were like fireworks: really delicious, but they quickly died out. One of my goals for next planting season is to create a more in sync and ever-yielding vegetable/herb garden in my urban space.

2 thoughts on “Taco Monday

Leave a Reply

