What to do with the herbs

Since I work a lot and have been traveling a little this summer, I have trouble using the herbs that I’ve grown. The internet and my mom have helped me figure out some solutions:

Too much basil.

It was time for a third harvest. The basil is hearty.  I also pinch the tops off, which helps to yield the next crop.
It was time for a third harvest. The basil is hearty. I also pinch the tops off, which helps to yield the next crop.

I froze my basil, chopped up, in an ice cube tray.

Chop the basil and put a pinch or two into each cube. Then cover with water and freeze. I'm keeping my basil ice cubes in a plastic bag in the fridge for the winter.
Chop the basil and put a pinch or two into each cube. Then cover with water and freeze. I’m keeping my basil ice cubes in a plastic bag in the fridge for the winter.
Through google, I found that this method for freezing fresh herbs works well when making soups or sauces in the winter. Drop a basil ice cube into some stewed tomatoes, onions and garlic on the stove - I'd like to put that on my pasta fo sho.
Through google, I found that this method for freezing fresh herbs works well when making soups or sauces in the winter. Drop a basil ice cube into some stewed tomatoes, onions and garlic on the stove – I’d like to put that on my pasta fo sho.

Too much oregano (or thyme or mint or basil or anything else you might have).

The creeping herb is creeping into my other flowers. It's thyme to dry them to preserve them. It's for their own good!
The creeping herb is creeping into my other flowers. It’s thyme to dry them to preserve them. It’s for their own good!
Tie bunches of herbs and hang them upside down in a cool, dry place out of direct sunlight. When all the moisture is gone, strip the leaves into Ziploc bags.
Tie bunches of herbs and hang them upside down in a cool, dry place out of direct sunlight. When all the moisture is gone, strip the leaves into Ziploc bags.
I dried bunches of my mint, oregano and basil. Trev thinks I'm crazy, and the cats think I've given them a new toy when I tie the basil off the handle of the fridge. But when I pinch the oregano into a bag and dream of all the pizzas I could make in January, I don't care.
I dried bunches of my mint, oregano and basil. Trev thinks I’m crazy, and the cats think I’ve given them a new toy when I tie the basil off the handle of the fridge. But when I pinch the oregano into a bag and dream of sprinkling dried oregano on pizza crusts in January, I don’t care.

In recipes (meat dishes or soups) that call for herbs de provence, which is a mixture of dried herbs such as rosemary, thyme, basil, oregano, fennel, it would be great to make my own herbs de provence in the future. Also, if I could find pretty jars and ribbon in this city, the herb mix would make a great gift.

The tomatoes are going bad.

The chives are having a bad hair day.

The basil grows like a weed.

Make a garbage salad. It's fast and fresh and doesn't require much precision to be good. I chopped up the tomatoes that had some spots in them because we hadn't used them fast enough, leftover yellow and red onions, cucumber, feta cheese and a handful each of basil and chives from the garden.
Make a garbage salad. It’s fast, fresh, delicious and doesn’t require much precision to be good – easy to repeat to use up everything. I chopped up the tomatoes that had some spots in them from sitting in a bowl for too long, leftover yellow and red onions, cucumber, feta cheese and a handful each of basil and chives from the garden.
I added the chopping board full of fresh garbage to some couscous with a little lemon juice, salt and pepper and a dash of red wine vinegar. Delicious served of lettuce or with crackers or by itself.
I added the cutting board full of fresh garbage to some couscous with a little lemon juice, salt and pepper and a dash of red wine vinegar. Delicious served over lettuce or with crackers or by itself.

Too much of anything?

I would love to infuse olive oil, vinegar or more alcohol. I promise to do it right this time. I’m thinking some basil or lemon verbena olive oil and another stab at a spearmint or fruity vodka.

Too much mint.

Make a big pitcher of mojitos or mint julep. I have already done this, and there are no pictures. But you better believe it was awesome.

One thought on “What to do with the herbs

Leave a Reply

