An excuse for tacky decorating

My hot Thai peppers look about ready to harvest:

I planted the peppers from seed and had them outside at first. They did not grow very quickly in the direct sun that I have in the front yard. My friend Janie had excellent advice. She suggested I bring the pot inside in a sunny window so the seedlings weren't too overwhelmed by the bright June sunlight.
I planted the peppers from seed and had them outside at first. They did not grow very quickly in the direct sun that is the front yard. My friend Janie had excellent advice. She suggested I bring the pot inside in a sunny window so the seedlings weren’t too overwhelmed by the bright June sunlight, and move them outside later. It worked very well. I owe her a lot of salsa.
I had all six plants in one pot, but the pool got a little crowded. Trev set up a book case garden for me by lining a sideways bookcase with plastic and filling it with soil. I have three pepper plants in one tier of the bookcase. And three in the long potter that my lettuce and radishes were in.
I had all six plants in one pot, but it was a little crowded. Not enough food to go around. On a walk one night, we found a bookcase on the side of the road. I put it shelve-side-up in the back yard. Trev set up the bookcase garden for me by lining the bottom with plastic and filling it with soil. I have three pepper plants in one tier of the bookcase. And three in the long container as shown above.
Some have stayed green.
Some peppers have stayed green, which seems fine according to the picture on the seed packet.
Some have turned a brilliant red.
Some have turned a bright red that makes me want to pair them with the basil for a spicy curry dish, stat.

I think I will have close to 20. I’m excited to use them in the kitchen, but we all know I haven’t been cooking much this summer. I don’t want them to go to waste, so I am refraining from picking them until I have a plan of pepper preservation. Say that five times fast.

Can I dry these things like I did my other herbs? A Google search led me to various Ask.com pages and another WordPress blog post that said yes. Yes, I can string peppers around my apartment like little homemade chili pepper lights. Yes, I could end up with dried peppers to crush and use as seasoning for delicious winter things such as chili, soups, curry, rice dishes, etc. I was taught to avoid exclamation points like the plague when I was in journalism school, but just this once: How exciting!!!

One thought on “An excuse for tacky decorating

Leave a Reply

