And from peppers came salsa

I made this summery salsa using three ingredients from my garden plus other store-boughts. It tasted so fresh and was the last chance to use up the quickly ripening tomatoes. Summer is almost over – red wine and dark beer suddenly sound delicious again, and I thought about wearing a scarf a few nights this weekend.

Some have turned a brilliant red.
My Thai peppers on the vine
I also used all of these fresh tomatoes from the one plant in the front. (Plus two from the store to supplement these, but I try to forget about that).
I also used all of these fresh tomatoes from our only plant in front. (Plus two from the store to supplement these, but I try to forget about that).
I also used fresh basil.
I also used a few sprigs of basil from the back patio.
Oops! My cat is really cute ...
Ok so my cat is really cute …
The fresh salsa was summery, like pico de gallo. Perfect for an outdoor concert, which is exactly where I took it to. It (and the bag of tortilla chips) didn't make it back.
The fresh salsa was summery, cilantro-y, tangy, like pico de gallo. Perfect for an outdoor concert, which is exactly where I took it. It (and the bag of tortilla chips) didn’t make it back. See the recipe below:
We saw a screening of the first Lord of the Rings on a huge screen  with a live orchestra and choir playing the soundtrack and plenty of snacks and wine in front of us. So awesome.
We saw a screening of the first Lord of the Rings on a huge screen with a live orchestra and choir playing the soundtrack and plenty of snacks and wine in front of us. So awesome. Also, apparently this exists …

The recipe I used was from the “Summer” section of Simply in Season, a gift from my mom that suggests using fresh, local, in-season foods by organizing their low-on-ingredient, high-on-quality recipes by seasons.

Fresh Summer Salsa

6 medium fresh tomatoes (diced)

1 medium red onions (diced)

1 large green pepper (diced)

2-3 hot chili peppers (diced)

1/4 bunch fresh cilantro (chopped)

4 cloves garlic (minced)

3 tablespoons fresh basil (chopped)

2 tablespoons vinegar

1 tablespoons vinegar

1 tablespoon lemon juice

1/2 teaspoon salt or to taste

* To mimic my favorite smoky flavors in store-bought salsa, I added a tsp each of cumin and smoked paprika. Also substituted the lemon juice with lime juice.

Combine in bowl. Let stand 30 minutes and serve.

One thought on “And from peppers came salsa

Leave a Reply

