Squashed

Trev recently bought a garden hose and fixed it up to hook onto our kitchen sink. The cats recoil in a combination of fear and curiosity as the giant green snake slithers along the kitchen floor and out the front door. As a result, we no longer have to go back and forth with the water pitcher 12 times every morning in the swampy D.C. heat. The plants think it’s a great idea too. My squash seedlings have grown from this:

My squash plants: Three in one mound.
Three in one mound.

To this:

Medium size
Medium sized and spreading out a little more.

And pretty soon I noticed the vines had taken root all across the brick path and had started invading the lavender’s space. Apparently they don’t know the hierarchy of the garden yet. (Lavender is queen.) I ordered and picked up some folding trellises at Home Depot and trained the long vines to go up.

The vines of both mounds go up and down both sides of the trellises. Since I am switching their environment to vertical so late in the game, I hope they will hold up. The gardening gloves were a surprise from Trev and make dealing with the many weeds a lot easier.
The vines of all six seedlings are long enough to go up and down both sides of the trellises. Since I am switching their environment to vertical instead of horizontal so late in their growing stage, I hope they will hold up. My pretty gardening gloves were a surprise from Trev, and they make my battles with weeds a lot easier.
After foolishly watching one of the trellis topple over in a gust of wind, I dug them deeper into the dusty ground and tied the legs to the fence with twine.
After foolishly watching one of the trellis topple over in a gust of wind, I dug each one deeper into the dusty ground and tied the legs to the fence (and together) with twine.
Dry, dry dirt and wind that blows over the hollyhocks.
Dry, dry dirt and hot sun directly overhead. This must be July. I’ve taken to spraying lemon juice on my hair before I go outside in the sun to lighten it a bit. Maybe after today I’ll see some results.
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
My first calla lily flower!
4 thoughts on “Squashed

  1. Boy, it’s looking like a real garden! So lush and a lot of variety! You look like a true gardener too. Good work!

Leave a Reply

