Using fresh basil

Yes I know that basil is the most cliché of herbs and that I talk about it a lot. Just like Italian restaurants are popular date spots and Honolulu is the standard for a nice vacation. But mozzarella and lounging on the beach with a Pina Colada are well-loved for a reason, so I will indulge my affinity for that popular herb in school.

Thousands of food-related Google searches on my laptop have turned my Facebook feed into one large ad for hosting trendy summer cook-outs. I haven’t organized anything yet, but I do run across a lot of good content. For example, Huffington Post created a listicle of delicious-sounding uses for fresh summer basil. Unfortunately, my limited ideas of sprinkling my basil on pizza and whipping up pesto don’t stand a chance next to the gourmands at Huff Po. Also, if cocktails are in order at this hypothetical Martha Stewart-styled smash bash, then I certainly will be serving this gem.

Trev and I have already used the mint for infusing vodka, flavoring iced tea and prettying up a Pimm’s cup cocktail.

Mint tea
Mint tea

Mint vodka

This is the mint from last year.

So now I suppose I should give the basil a chance to cut loose a little. I have used my abundant basil this year to make tomato sauce for pizza and pasta. Once my tomatoes ripen, I will try it again.

Basil galore.
Basil galore.
My own onions and a few crushed garlic cloves in some olive oil. After this, I threw in the basil and chopped tomatoes and let it stew for about 20 minutes.
Garden red onions and a few crushed garlic cloves in some olive oil. After this, I threw in the basil and chopped tomatoes and let it stew for about 20 minutes.
I guess it pays to save all my old jars. I used the old pasta sauce jar to store my own concoction.
I used an old pasta sauce jar to store my own concoction. Mixed with a spoonful of fresh pesto on some spaghetti and a cheap bottle of wine, it was a pretty tasty alternative to a romantic date night spot, indeed.
Topped with mozzarella slices, tomato chunks and basil
Topped with mozzarella slices, tomato chunks and basil
Leave a Reply

