Progress and Pizza

I have enjoyed my easy recipe for homemade pizza dough as found in The Heart of the Plate cookbook by Mollie Katzen. The low-maintenance recipe contains just flour, yeast, salt, water, olive oil and about an hour and a half of your time. It is rare that I love the swampy weather of D.C., but when I set my dough outside to rise the other night, I was praising the humidity. The pizza crust turned out great, and I used some of my fresh tomatoes and basil on top.

Garden vegetable pizza and a glass of red wine is my favorite summer night dinner!
Garden vegetable pizza and a glass of red wine has been my favorite summer night dinner this year!
Garlic and red pepper olive oil brushed onto the crust, topped with broccoli, tomatoes, green peppers, red cabbage, basil and feta cheese crumbles.
Before I started the pizza, I set some chopped garlic and red pepper flakes to marinate in 1/4 cup of olive oil. When the crust was ready, I brushed my quick-infused garlic onto the crust and topped it with broccoli, tomatoes, green peppers, red cabbage, basil and feta cheese crumbles.
It seems like every time I walk outside, there are three newly ripened tomatoes ready for harvest. I feel so lucky.
It seems like every time I walk outside, there are three newly ripened tomatoes ready for harvest.

On another hand, I think I should be worried about the giant squash vines that are choking the whole front yard. At the moment, I’m not sure if a bounty of butternut soup and stews will be worth the destruction the plants have caused to the yard. Here is the largest gourd pictured a week ago. There are about four others.

James and the giant squash.
James and the giant squash.

Pretty soon, I will have to enter it at the fair.

Too bad I couldn't get THIS back on the plane. It would certainly stock our pantry.

One thought on “Progress and Pizza

  1. oh that pizza looks mouthwatering. and your tomatos! I’m so proud of you!!!! not sure about the squash however…are you sure that’s a butternut and not some kind of alien monster vine?

    PS how do you come up with such clever titles for your posts?

Leave a Reply

