Weeknight Dinners: Lentil and Black Bean Burgers

This recipe is a take on something I saw in a vegetarian cookbook. I used my fresh basil and some garlic, cumin and black pepper for seasoning.

Cooked black beans and chick peas mixed with garlic and chopped basil from the garden.
Cooked black beans and lentils mixed with garlic and chopped basil from the garden.
Mixed with bread crumbs (homemade version is just one piece of toast torn into bits) and an egg. I did this so the burgers would hold together a little better.
Mixed with bread crumbs (I usually just toast a piece of bread and tear it into bits – sketchy, I know) and an egg. I did this so the burgers would hold together a little better.
Next, I heated some oil in a pan, formed patties and grilled for a few minutes on each side.
Next, I heated some oil in a pan, formed patties and grilled for a few minutes on each side.
They got nice and crispy and we had them on toast with lettuce, red cabbage and fresh tomatoes.
They got crispy, and we had them on toast with lettuce, red cabbage and fresh tomatoes.
Leave a Reply

