Fresh salsa and basil rice

The tomatoes and basil that are still hanging on outside are finishing this summer off right. One night, we baked tilapia filets with dried herbs, crushed red pepper flakes, lemon juice and a drizzle of olive oil. I mixed in chopped basil with brown rice and made a salsa with onions, garlic, tomatoes and lemon juice. The fresh ingredients don’t need much enhancement, but I always drown my food in hot sauce (not pictured because it’s embarrassing). It’s bad, and Trev suggests maybe I should cut back before my insides start dissolving.

Even though I love ordering pizza delivery and eating at restaurants, it's also a relief to head into Monday with a stocked refrigerator and fresh dinner ideas.
Even though I love ordering pizza delivery and eating at restaurants, it’s also a relief to head into Monday with a stocked refrigerator and fresh dinner ideas. Having a garden is a great way to contribute and know exactly where some of my food is coming from (hint: two steps up and one turn to the left in my front yard!)

I have been cooking and using my garden a lot, but I’ve also been seeing a lot of D.C. and the surrounding area. Here are some pictures. I love my new iPhone because my camera’s always with me.

Thanks to Trev, I've discovered the Anacostia River Walk. It's a trail that loops over the Anacostia. There are some great views. Here is from across the river of the National's baseball stadium with the Washington Monument in the background.
Thanks to Trev, I’ve discovered the Anacostia Riverwalk Trail. It’s a trail that loops over the Anacostia River. There are some great views. Here is from across the river of the National’s baseball stadium with the Washington Monument in the background.
I sometimes take a walk around the Capitol building at lunchtime. This fountain is the centerpiece of Senate Park, a great view while eating lunch.
I sometimes take a walk around the Capitol building at lunchtime. This fountain is the centerpiece of Senate Park, a great view while eating lunch.
There's also a hiking trail around the Roosevelt Island and Key Bridge area. If you go far enough, it feels like you're in Colorado instead of the nation's capital.
There’s also a hiking trail around the Roosevelt Island and Key Bridge area. If you go far enough, it feels like you’re in Colorado instead of the nation’s capital.
A view of Georgetown through the trees while I was hiking.
A view of Georgetown through trees. Lots of people were out paddle boarding enjoying the rest of the warm days.

Descendants of Roosevelt's pet ducks?

This D.C. neighborhood, Adams Morgan, had a street festival. I went with friends and had a great time with all the street music, art vendors and trying seasonal craft beers. This graffiti is for a soul food restaurant and bar called Madams Organ. Thought it was funny.
This D.C. neighborhood, Adams Morgan, had a street festival. I went with friends and had a great time seeing street music, art vendors and trying seasonal craft beers. This graffiti is for a soul food restaurant and bar called Madams Organ. I’ve never noticed it before.
I took a weekend trip to NYC by bus to visit my amazing college friends Samantha and Caitlin, who are living their dreams in the city.
I took a weekend trip to NYC by bus to visit my amazing college friends Samantha and Caitlin, who are living their dreams in the city. We went to a farmer’s market, cooked and baked, had bagels and went to a Brooklyn market called Smorgasburg.
We drank coconut water right out of the coconut. Crazy things in Brooklyn!
We drank coconut water right out of the coconut from this Jamaican food stand.
Mimi and Maytag love each other so much. They're so cute!
Mimi and Maytag love each other so much. They’re so cute!
Leave a Reply

