Sunny lemon bars for a dreary winter

What is a good way to warm up in February? You say doing some intense cardio session and then drinking hot water with lemon? Or you say cranking up the thermostat and jumping under your covers with a magazine, a coffee and a cuddly kitty. — That one sounds very nice, but unrealistic if your kitty isn’t very cuddly.

I say baking. It remains one of the few things I feel like doing when it’s cold outside.

My office had a Super Bowl luncheon potluck on Friday, and I made my grandma’s special lemon bar recipe. Usually before I bake something, if it’s planned, I put out the recipe card (in one of my grandmas’ or my mom’s handwriting most of the time) like so:

Just to get in the mood. This board hangs to the left of my oven. It makes it very easy to follow recipe steps without getting flour and oil stains on the card. Of course being very nearsighted, I often need to put recipes on the table and bend over them like I'm 104 years old. This doesn't help with food stains.
I do it a few days ahead, just to get in the mood. It also has some of my favorite photos pinned up there, which add to my happiness. This board hangs to the left of my oven. It makes it very easy to follow recipe steps without getting flour and butter stains on the card. Of course being very nearsighted, I often need to put recipes on the table and bend over them like I’m 104 years old. This doesn’t help with stains.
I doubled my grandma's recipe to fit the pan.  The crust turned out a little too crumbly, and the lemon layer was not nearly bright and lemony enough to rid me of my winter blues. Next time, I will juice two lemons for this size pan.
I doubled my grandma’s recipe to fit the pan. The crust turned out a little too crumbly, and the lemon layer was not nearly bright and zesty enough to rid me of my winter blues. Next time, I will juice two lemons for this sized pan. But coworkers seemed to like them!

Twenty-four people brought food for 24 people, so we had too much to eat. But everything was extra delicious, and I only had four bars leftover to take home. They might or might not have even made the trip home …

2 thoughts on “Sunny lemon bars for a dreary winter

Leave a Reply

